"Education is social progress, education is growth, education is not preparation for life but life itself"

Student and Staff Mobility

Partnership and Collaboration

UFH is the only University that forms part of all 4 ERUSMUS MUNDUS (Funded by the EU) Consortia programmes which consist of

INSPIRE C (open to both EU and South African nationals)

INSPIRE C (open to both EU and South African nationals)


INSPIRE project offers 125 scholarships for students, researchers or staff to participate in an exchange or a full degree. It is open to all South African nationals either currently registered as a student, researcher or staff at a Higher Education Institution or with an already completed degree.


For EU nationals this call is open to all registered students, researchers or full-time members of staff interested in applying for an exchange.


For more information please visit http://inspiresouthafrica.eu/general_information




EUROSA is an Erasmus Mundus Action 2 Partnerships scholarship programme, funded by the European Commission. It is coordinated by the University of Antwerp and it promotes mobility for South African and European students, researchers, academic and administrative staff. The 1st EUROSA project was launched in 2010. Over the years the EUROSA projects have granted more than 200 scholarships to talented South African and European students and researchers to fulfill their academic dreams abroad.


The Action 2 - Erasmus Mundus Partnerships (EMA2) programme is a higher education cooperation and mobility scheme funded by the European Commission. Its objective is to achieve better understanding and mutual enrichment between the European Union and Third Countries in the field of higher education through promoting the exchange of people, knowledge and skills at the higher education level.


For more information please visit https://www.uantwerpen.be/en/projects/eurosa/about-eurosa/




Erasmus Mundus EU-SATURN (EUropean - South African programme in TUning for Regional Needs in higher education) is a mobility programme from the European Union coordinated by the University of Groningen, the Netherlands. The co-coordinator on the South African side is the University of the Free State at Bloemfontein. EU-SATURN provides scholarships for South African PhDs and staff to spend a period of study/research at one of the European consortium universities.


Degree Types


EU-SATURN offers mobility scholarships for PhD (6 and 10 months) and staff positions (1 month). Regular financial assistance will be provided as well as help with transport, insurance and applications for succesful applicants at all levels.


For the specifics of each of the study programmes offered by the eight European partners, please consult the information available under the section "Academic Fields". Should you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact the participating universities' institutional coordinators.


For more information please visit http://www.eu-saturn.eu/about-eusaturn




The AESOP multidisciplinary and intersectorial Erasmus Mundus consortium co-coordinated by the University Paul Sabatier-Toulouse 3 (France) and the University of the Western Cape (South Africa).The partnership is composed by 11 European and 9 South African university partners, as well as The AESOP Consortium will manage the partnership and will organize 150 mobilities (109 South African applicants and 41 European applicants in Master, Doctorate and Staff).s six additional associate members.


For more information please visit http://www.aesop-em.eu/general_information


These comprehensive scholarships will cover the following:


  • Monthly stipend between € 1000-2500;
  • All tuition fees;
  • Health insurance;
  • Residence permit;
  • Travels to and from your study destination


This is a capacity building program- through Exchange programmes for staff and students- Full mobility, meaning a full duration of the Qualification for (Masters / PhD / Research and a 1month staff exchange (Academic or Administrative).

Kindly Note that all mobility programmes are only open to South African nationals


Admission Enquiries


® UFH | International Affairs website // All Rights Reserved // Developed by BlackInk Solutions