Department of Physics

The Department of Physics at Fort Hare University offers programs leading to the BSc, B.Ed. Science, and to the M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees in Physics.

At postgraduate level, the department has identified the following Research Focus Areas:

  • Energy Management (Integrated systems – Nuclear Physics)
  • Renewable Energy
  • Nanotechnology
  • Electromagnetics (HMO / SKA)
  • Geophysics
  • Science Education

The Department of Physics is housed in the Livingstone Hall, with its entire laboratories housed here also.  The Fort Hare Institute of Technology also helps with other programs in research.