Members of Staff

Head of Department & Lecturer: Dr JZ Mbese
Tel: 040 602 2055
Email: jmbese@ufh.ac.za
Location: Chemistry Building, 3rd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 110),
Inorganic Chemistry 2 (PAC 321),
Material Chemistry 2 (PAC 317),
Inorganic Chemistry (Hons) (CHE 522).

Research Interests: The Inorganic Materials Chemistry Research Group (IMCRG) focuses on the Synthesis of Inorganic Materials, Metal Sulfide nanoparticles/nanocomposites, Carbon Quantum Dots (CQDs) and Carbon Nanotubes for applications as/in: Nanotechnology, Electrochemical Sensing, Water treatment and Renewable Energy.

Professor: Prof OO Okoh
Tel: 040 602 2056
Email: OOkoh@ufh.ac.za
Location: Chemistry Building, 1st Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 119 & 129),
Chemical Technology 1 (PAC 225).

Research Interests: Natural Products chemistry and Environmental Chemistry.

Professor: Prof OO Oyedeji
Tel: 040 602 2362
Email: OOyedeji@ufh.ac.za 
Location: Chemistry Building, 1st Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 110 & 121),
Environmental Chemistry 1 (PAC 216),
Environmental Chemistry 2 (PAC 326).

Research Interests: Isolation of natural products (triterpenoids and others) which are bioactive and have latent or obvious functional groups that can be decorated with pharmacophoric groups for enhanced biological activities for drug discovery purposes. Identification, isolation and characterize the essential oils from medicinal plants for economic and medicinal potential. Use of instrumental analysis in natural product determination. Use of extracts and seed molecules isolated from natural product into nanoparticles for drug therapy.

Professor: Prof BA Aderibigbe
Tel: 040 602 2266
Email: BAderibigbe@ufh.ac.za   
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 110),
Organic Chemistry 3 (PAC 323),
Organic Chemistry (Hons) (CHE 523).

Research Interests: Our group’s research is focused on the synthesis of hybrid molecules, the development of polymer therapeutics and nanomedicines for the treatment of infectious and chronic diseases. We are also involved in the development of wound dressings. The research is multi-disciplinary and we work in collaboration with research groups from other Universities.

Senior Lecturer: Dr DM Katwire
Tel: 040 602 2094
Email: DKatwire@ufh.ac.za 
Location: Chemistry Building, 1st Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Analytical Chemistry 1 (PAC 222),
Analytical Chemistry 1 (PAC 312),
Analytical Chemistry (Hons) (CHE 511).

Research Interests: Analytical Chemistry

Lecturer: Dr Z Tywabi-Ngeva
Tel: 040 602 2367
Email: ZNgeva@ufh.ac.za   
Location: Chemistry Building, 1st Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 121),
Physical Chemistry 2 (PAC 314),
Physical Chemistry 3. Surface and Colloid Chemistry (PAC 324),
Physical Chemistry (Hons) (CHE 514).

Research Interests: Physical Chemistry and Nanomaterials

Lecturer: Mr V Maqanda
Tel: 040 602 2394
Email: VMaqanada@ufh.ac.za    
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Inorganic Chemistry 1 (PAC 211),
Chemical Technology 2 (PAC 315),
Physical Chemistry 1 (PAC 224),
Materials Chemistry 1 (PAC 227).

Lecturer: Mr NC Manene
Tel: 040 602 2144
Email: NManene@ufh.ac.za   
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Organic Chemistry 1 (PAC 213),
Organic Chemistry 2 (PAC 223),
Organic Chemistry 3 (PAC 323).

NGAP Lecturer: Ms T Naki
Tel: 040 602 2055
Email: TNaki@ufh.ac.za    
Location: Chemistry Building, 3rd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Subject Expertise: 

Computational Chemistry 1 (PAC 218),
Computational Chemistry 2 (PAC 328).

Acting Chief Technician: Mr KT Tshapu
Tel: 040 602 2461
Email: KTshapu@ufh.ac.za     
Location: Chemistry Building, 1st Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Practical Experiments: 

Inorganic Chemistry 1 (PAC 211),
Inorganic Chemistry 2 (PAC 321),
Physical Chemistry 1 (PAC 224),
Physical Chemistry 2 (PAC 314).

Senior Laboratory Assistant: Mr L Mkosi
Tel: 040 602 2253
Email: LMkosi@ufh.ac.za    
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Practical Experiments: 

Organic Chemistry 1 (PAC 213),
Organic Chemistry 3 (PAC 323).

Senior Laboratory Assistant: Mr MW Mneno
Tel: 040 602 2606
Email: MMneno@ufh.ac.za      
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Practical Experiments: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 110 & 121).

Laboratory Assistant: Mr T Mzamo
Tel: 040 602 2461
Email: TMzamo@ufh.ac.za     
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Practical Experiments: 

Basic Chemistry (PAC 119 & 129).

Laboratory Assistant: Mr T Mcako
Tel: 040 602 2507
Email: TMcako@ufh.ac.za       
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Instruments Technician: 

UV-Vis, PL, FTIR, etc

Laboratory Technical: Mr SW Nduluka
Tel: 040 602 2484
Email: SNduluka@ufh.ac.za      
Location: Chemistry Building, 2nd Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

Administrator: Mrs L Lubisi
Tel: 040 602 2484
Email: LLubisi@ufh.ac.za      
Location: Chemistry Building, 1st Floor
Campus: Alice Campus

 

Memcache statistics

Operation Bin Key Hit
get cache_bootstrap science-cache_bootstrap-lookup_cache 1
get cache_bootstrap science-cache_bootstrap-variables 1
get cache_bootstrap science-cache_bootstrap-bootstrap_modules 1
get cache_bootstrap science-cache_bootstrap-system_list 1
get cache_bootstrap science-cache_bootstrap-module_implements 1
get cache science-cache-filter_formats%3Aen 1
get cache science-cache-filter_list_format 1
get cache_bootstrap science-cache_bootstrap-_drupal_file_scan_cache  
get cache science-cache-theme_registry%3Amichael_responsive_theme 1