Staff

 

Dr Nombulelo Lubisi (Deputy Dean)
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):LLD LLM, LLB, BJuris
Teaching Responsibilities: Advanced Constitutional Law, Advanced Administrative Law, Labour Law, Social Security Law
Other Responsibilities:
Research Interests: Human Rights, Labour Law, Socal Security Law
Contact Details: Tel:043 704 7525 Email:nlubisi@ufh.ac.za

 

Professor Patrick C Osode
Qualifications (Academic and Professional): LLB, BL, LLM, SJD
Teaching Responsibilities: Law of Business Entities, Securities Regulation, International Trade Law, Legal Research Methodology
Other Responsibilities:
Research Interests: Corporate Law, International Trade Law, Government Liability, Public Procurement
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7527  Email:posode@ufh.ac.za

 

Professor NS Rembe
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):LLB (Hons); LLM; PhD
Teaching Responsibilities: Human Rights Law, Public International Law
Other Responsibilities: Oliver Tambo Chair of Human Rights
Research Interests: Human Rights Law
Contact Details: Tel: 040 602 2217  Email: nsrembe@ufh.ac.za

 

Senior Lecturers:

Mr Actor Katurura
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):B Juris; LLB; LLM; PGDHET
Teaching Responsibilities: African Customary Law, Legal Research Methodology, Administrative Law
Other Responsibilities: HOD - Private Law
Research Interests: Environmental Law, Customary Law, Jurisprudence
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7523 Email: akaturura@ufh.ac.za

 

Mr Arthur van Coller
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):BA (Law); LLB; LLM; DMS; HDipTax; PGDHET; Admitted Attorney
Teaching Responsibilities: Constitutional Law, Human Rights, Public International Law, Tax Law
Other Responsibilities: HOD: Public Law, Faculty Website, Student Retention, Instructor LSSA School for Legal PracticeResearch Interests: Animal Rights, Human Rights, International Humanitarian Law, Tax Law
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7534 Email: avancoller@ufh.ac.za

 

 

Mr Stephen Theal Stewart
Qualifications (Academic and Professional): BA; LLB; Advocate of the High Court of SA
Teaching Responsibilities: Labour Law, Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, Commercial Law
Other Responsibilities: Timetable Committee, Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Excellence Awards Committee Member
Research Interests: Law of insurance, Conflict of Laws, Customary Law
Contact Details: Tel: 040 602 2215 Email:sstewart@ufh.ac.za

 

 

 

Ms Bronwyn Batchelor
Qualifications (Academic and Professional): BComm; LLB; LLM
Teaching Responsibilities: Family Law (Foundation), Commercial Law 1
Other Responsibilities:
Research Interests:
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7177 Email: bbatchelor@ufh.ac.za

 


Mr Jacques D Mahler-Coetzee
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):BA HONS; LLB; LLM; PGDHET (cum laude); Admitted Attorney
Teaching Responsibilities: Medical Jurisprudence, Law of Delict, Law of Persons & the Family, Commercial Law 2
Other Responsibilities:
Instructor LSSA School for Legal Practice, East London
Project Leader (UFH), CHED/CITL Large Classes Project
Research Interests: Legal Pedagogy, Medical law & Ethics, Marine & Coastal Heritage and Culture, Environmental law
Contact Details: Tel: 043 7047520 Email:jmahler@ufh.ac.za


Lecturers:

Mr Simphiwe S Bidie

Qualifications (Academic and Professional):LLB; LLM; (UFH) Diploma in Financial Management (Dip. AIBM. (Fin) [BMTCSA]
Teaching Responsibilities:Commercial Law,Social Security Law
Other Responsibilities:
Research Interests:Commercial Law, Company Law, International Trade Law, Constitutional Law
Contact Details: Tel: 040 2462 / 2236 Email: sbidie@ufh.ac.za

Mr Manfred G Chinamasa
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):B.Proc; LLB (UFH); LLM (Human Rights & Democratisation in Africa (UP); Admitted Attorney
Teaching Responsibilities: Criminal Procedure, Legal and Numeracy Skills
Other Responsibilities:
Research Interests:Human Rights
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7533 Email: MChinamasa@ufh.ac.za


Mr Masibonge Ngaba
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):LLB; LLM
Teaching Responsibilities: Criminal Law, Foundation: Law of Persons
Other Responsibilities: Co-ordination of SALGA Project, Capacity Building Project for Councellors
Research Interests: Local Government, Criminal Law
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7528 Email:mngaba@ufh.ac.za


Mr Nashalan Chetty
Qualifications (Academic and Professional):

Teaching Responsibilities: Professional Skills and Ethics, Commercial Law 2
Other Responsibilities:
Research Interests:
Contact Details: Tel: 043 704 7524 Email: nchetty@ufh.ac.za


ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT

  1. Khunjuzwa Mkiva - Faculty Manager
    amikiva@ufh.ac.za
    043 704 7521
  2. Pumeza Zinto - Assistant Faculty Manager
    pzinto@ufh.ac.za
    043 704 7530
  3. Mninawa Nhanha - Senior Administrator (East London)
    mnhanha@ufh.ac.za
    043 704 6539
  4. Barbara Opperman (PA to the Executive Dean of Law)
    bopperman@ufh.ac.za
    043 704 7520
  5. Tamara Fali - Secretary (Alice)
    tfali@ufh.ac.za
    040 602 2236